Get your FREE Boundaries for Empaths Class now!

The 7 Main Chakras

Throughout our body, we have energy centers called chakras, a Sanskrit word meaning wheel. Although there are hundreds of chakras in us, there are seven which govern our bodies on four different levels: physical, emotional, mental and spiritual.


The seven main chakras are swirling wheels of energy that align up the spine from the base to the top of the head. Each chakra has a color or vibration and a set of characteristics unique to itself. As we live our lives, we have all experienced traumatic and painful experiences that result in trapped energy in our chakra (and meridian) system. Energy work or energy medicine is the work of moving stuck energy out of our energy system in order to attain optimum health and well-being.

I have assembled the information below to help you learn your chakras and identify areas for healing, growth, and development. I would also recommend the books The Book of Chakra Healing by Liz Simpson and Wheels of Light by Rosalyn L. Bruyere if you would like more in-depth information.

Seventh Chakra - Crown 

Sanskrit name is Sahasrara meaning “Thousandfold”

Spiritual and Emotional Aspects: Knowingness–The right to aspire. Dedication to the divine consciousness and trusting the universe. Learning about one’s spirituality. Our connection to the concept of “God” or a higher intelligence. Integrating one’s consciousness and sub-consciousness into the super-consciousness.

Physical Manifestations: Tension headache, migraine, depression, Parkinson’s disease, Schizophrenia, Epilepsy, senile dementia, Alzheimer’s, many mental disorders, confusion, and dizziness.

Element: Cosmic Energy
Color: Violet/White
Gland: Pineal
Physical areas: Brain

Sixth Chakra - Third Eye

Sanskrit name Anja meaning “To Perceive”

Spiritual and Emotional Aspects: Intuition–The right to “see.” Trusting one’s intuition and insights. Developing one’s psychic abilities. Self-realization. Releasing hidden and repressed negative thoughts

Physical Manifestations: Learning disabilities, coordination problems, sleep disorders, visual defects, short-sightedness, long-sightedness, glaucoma, cataracts, sinus problems, ear problems.

Mantra: I SEE
Element: Light
Color: Indigo
Gland: Pituitary
Physical areas: Eyes, lower head, and sinus

Fifth Chakra - Throat

Sanskrit name Vishuddha meaning “Purification”

Spiritual and Emotional Aspects: Relationships–The right to speak. Learning to express oneself and one’s beliefs (truthful expression). Ability to trust. Loyalty. Organization and planning.

Physical Manifestations: Thyroid imbalances, swollen glands. Fevers and flu. Infections. Mouth, jaw, tongue, neck/shoulders problems. Hyperactivity. Hormonal disorders such as PMS, mood swings, bloating and menopause

Mantra: I SPEAK
Element: Ether
Color: Blue
Gland: Thyroid
Physical areas: throat and lungs

Fourth Chakra - Heart

Sanskrit name Anahata meaning “Unstruck”

Spiritual and Emotional Aspects: Relationships–The right to love. Love, forgiveness, compassion. Ability to have self-control. Acceptance of oneself.

Physical Manifestations: Heart disease and diseases of the immune system. High blood pressure. Passivity. Muscular tension.

Mantra: I LOVE
Element: Air
Color: Green/Pink
Gland: Thymus
Physical areas: Heart and breasts

Third Chakra - Solar Plexus

Sanskrit name Manipura meaning “Lustrous gem”

Spiritual and Emotional Aspects: Personal power–The right to think. Balance of intellect, self-confidence, and ego power. Ability to have self-control and humor.

Physical Manifestations: Digestive problems, ulcers, diabetes, hypoglycemia, constipation. Nervousness, toxicity, parasites, colitis, poor memory.

Mantra: I WILL
Element: Fire
Color: Yellow
Gland: Pancreas
Physical areas: Liver, spleen, stomach and small intestine

Second Chakra - Sacral

Sanskrit name Svadhisthana meaning “Sweetness”

Spiritual and Emotional Aspects: Feelings—The right to feel. Connected to our sensing abilities and issues related to feelings. Ability to be social and intimacy issues.

Physical Manifestations: Eating disorders. Alcohol and drug abuse. Depression. Low back pain. Asthma or allergies. Candida & yeast infections. Urinary problems. Sensuality issues as well as impotency and frigidity.

Mantra: I FEEL
Element: Water
Color: Orange
Gland: Ovaries/Testis
Physical areas: Uterus, large bowel, prostate, ovaries, testes.

First Chakra - Root

Sanskrit name Muladhara meaning “Support”

Spiritual and Emotional Aspects: Survival–The right to exist. Deals with tasks related to the material and physical world. Ability to stand up for oneself and security issues.

Physical Manifestations: Anemia, fatigue, lower back pain, sciatica, depression. Frequent colds or cold hands and cold feet.

Mantra: I AM
Element: Earth
Color: Red
Gland: Adrenal
Physical areas: Kidneys, bladder, vertebral column, hips, and legs